Home / The region

           
   

The Millau viaduct

The Millau viaduct is a cable-stayed motorway bridge which crosses the valley of the Tarn in the department of the Aveyron. Completed in 2004, it holds 4 world records – for the highest pylon, mast and road bridge deck in the world and the deck suspended by the longest staying structure (2460m).
The construction of the viaduct took a long time. It required fourteen years of study and three years of work to complete the structure.

Plaisance

From Plaisance, two loops of short marked-out paths will lead you to the green landscapes of these small valleys. The village of Plaisance, in the south of the Aveyron, is famous for its pretty little streets and especially for its Romanesque church classified as a Historic Monument which contains a cross of the Knights Hospitaliers of Jerusalem. 

The caves of Roquefort

Visit the maturing caves of Roquefort and descend into underground labyrinths which were formed by the collapse of the mountain of Combalou. The vast ventilated caves contain thousands of Roquefort cheeses, maturing under the expert eyes of master cheese agers.

Le Sidobre

“The Sidobre is nature defying human reason, placing an enormous rock on a fragile base, it is a thin stream of water falling into a resonant conch…” (Étienne Grillou, Le Sidobre visitors’ guide).
Located in the Regional Natural Park of Haut-Languedoc, to the east of Castres and bounded by the Agout river, this 290 million-year-old granite plateau is hemmed in with deep gorges. Granite rocks carved by time are a study in balance, with the Peyro Clabado and the rock of Sept-Faux among the most fascinating.

Sylvanès

Situated in the south of the Aveyron, its old Cistercian abbey (12th century) has been classified as a historic monument. Described as a jewel of Cistercian architecture, it is composed of a very beautiful church with special acoustics where a festival of sacred music is held.

 
       
 
Gîte with character (4 épis)
in the Lacaune mountains,
between the departments of Tarn and Aveyron
   

Remarkable sites in the Tarn and the Aveyron to be discovered

Albi

The cathedral of Sainte-Cécile, a masterpiece of southern Gothic architecture, dominates the town of Albi by its imposing presence, history, construction and splendour. It took nearly 2 centuries to build, from 1282 to 1480. It is one of the most visited cathedrals in France. Also do not miss the Toulouse-Lautrec museum and take a trip on a traditional barge known as a gabarre on the Tarn for a better glimpse of the beauty of this city.

Ambialet

The peninsula of Ambialet, jewel of the valley of Tarn, was the stronghold of the Albigeois for two centuries, and numerous traces of this past still survive today. In particular, there is a Romanesque style priory and one of the oldest churches in the department (11th century).

Cordes-sur-Ciel

To the northwest of the Tarn, about thirty kilometres from Albi, lies Cordes-sur-Ciel, one of the most important medieval cities in France and one of the most important sites of European heritage. This fortified town will enchant you with its cobbled lanes and exceptional Gothic houses.

St Sernin sur Rance

At St Sernin sur Rance you will find traces of Victor of Aveyron, better known as the Wild Boy, who lived there in the early 19th century.

Lautrec

Lautrec, home of the family of the painter Toulouse-Lautrec, offers the visitor views of its spectacular 18th-century fortifications and corbelled and half-timbered 16th century houses.
There are 8 nature trails starting in Lautrec. On the Bagas stream, 6 water mills remain, one of which can produce flour. In August, do not miss the gastronomic festivals in Lautrec!  !

Monts de Lacaune

La cauna means “the grotto” in Occitan and there are many of these in the Lacaune mountains (the Montgrand is 1267m high). Located on the edges of the Natural Regional Park of Haut-Languedoc, it is the ideal site for hikers and fishermen. You can appreciate its many streams and rivers and try the numerous opportunities to enjoy the water on the lakes of Laouzas and the Raviège.

 

                 
                 
 
 
   
 
 
 
classified « Art de vivre en Midi-Pyrénées », « Gîte de Charme » and « Balades et Randonnées »

Accueil / Le pays

           
   

Le viaduc de Millau

Le viaduc de Millau est un pont autoroutier à haubans franchissant la vallée du Tarn, dans le département de l’Aveyron. Achevé en 2004, il détient 4 records du monde : la pile, la flèche et le tablier routier les plus hauts du monde et le tablier suspendu par haubanage le plus long (2460m).
La mise en place du viaduc a été longue. Il aura fallu quatorze ans d'étude et trois ans de travaux pour achever l’ouvrage.

Plaisance

Au départ de Plaisance, deux boucles de sentiers balisés de petite randonnée vous feront découvrir les paysages verdoyants de ces petites vallées. Le village de Plaisance, situé dans le sud de l’Aveyron, se visite pour ses jolies ruelles et surtout pour son église romane classée Monument Historique qui abrite une croix des Hospitaliers de Jérusalem. 

Les caves de Roquefort

La visite des caves d'affinage de Roquefort, c’est une plongée dans les dédales souterrains dont l’origine est due à l'effondrement de la montagne du Combalou. Les vastes caves ventilées accueillent des milliers de pains de Roquefort, sous le regard expert des maîtres-affineurs.

Le Sidobre

« Le Sidobre, c'est la nature défiant la raison Humaine, posant un rocher énorme sur un socle fragile, c’est le filet d'eau tombant dans une conque sonore… » (Étienne Grillou, Préface du Guide touristique Le Sidobre).
Situé dans le Parc naturel régional du Haut-Languedoc, à l’est de Castres et délimité par l’Agout, ce massif granitique vieux de 290 millions d’années est encaissé dans de profondes gorges. On y trouve de surprenants rocs de granit sculptés par le temps et tout en équilibre : La Peyro Clabado et le rocher de Sept-Faux sont parmi les plus fascinants.

Sylvanès

Située dans le sud de l’Aveyron, son ancienne abbaye cistercienne (12ème siècle) a été classée monument historique. Décrite comme un joyau de l’architecture cistercienne, elle comprend une très belle église à l’acoustique particulière où se déroule un festival de musique sacrée.

 
       
 
Gîte de caractère 4 épis
dans les Monts de Lacaune
à la frontière du Tarn et de l'Aveyron
   

A voir à proximité dans le Tarn et l’Aveyron

Albi

La Cathédrale Sainte-Cécile, chef d’œuvre du gothique méridional, domine la ville d'Albi par sa prestance, son histoire, son ouvrage et sa splendeur. Son édification a duré près de deux siècles de 1282 à 1480. Elle est l’une des cathédrales les plus visitées de France. Ne manquez pas également le musée Toulouse-Lautrec et laissez-vous aller à une promenade en gabarre sur le Tarn pour entrevoir un peu mieux la beauté de cette cité.

Ambialet

Portée par le Tarn, la presqu'île d’Ambialet fut l’ancienne place-forte de l’Albigeois durant deux siècles, et les traces de ce passé prestigieux sont encore nombreuses. On y trouve notamment un prieuré de style roman et l’une des plus anciennes églises du département (11ème siècle).

Cordes-sur-Ciel

Au nord-ouest du Tarn, à une trentaine de kilomètres d’Albi, Cordes-sur-Ciel est une des villes médiévales les plus significatives de France et un des hauts lieux du patrimoine européen. Cette bastide est un enchantement pour ses ruelles empierrées et son exceptionnel ensemble de maisons gothiques.

St Sernin sur Rance

A St Sernin sur Rance, vous retrouverez les traces de Victor de l’Aveyron, plus connu sous le nom de l’Enfant sauvage, qui a vécu là au début du XIXème siècle.

Lautrec

Lautrec, berceau de la famille du peintre Toulouse-Lautrec, offre au visiteur le spectacle de ses fortifications du 18ème siècle et de ses maisons à colombages et à encorbellements du 16ème.
Il existe 8 sentiers "nature" au départ de Lautrec. Sur le ruisseau du Bagas subsistent 6 moulins à eau, dont un qui peut produire de la farine. Au mois d’août ne manquez pas les fêtes gourmandes de Lautrec !

Monts de Lacaune

« La cauna » signifie en occitan « la grotte » et elles sont nombreuses dans les monts de Lacaune (le Montgrand culmine à 1267m). À la limite du Parc naturel régional du Haut-Languedoc, c’est le site idéal pour les amateurs de randonnées et de pêche. Vous pourrez apprécier ses nombreux cours d’eau et vous adonner aux multiples loisirs nautiques des lacs de Laouzas et de la Raviège.

 

                 
                 
 
 
   
 
 
 
classé « Art de vivre en Midi-Pyrénées », « Gîte de Charme » et « Balades et Randonnées »